It’s All About Trust

Posted: March 4, 2014 in Faith, Thoughts, Trust, Trust
Tags: , , , , , ,
Photo by Paul Jarvis

Photo by Paul Jarvis

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5-6 (NASB)

Trust. Five little letters – one BIG word. Trust is not something that comes easily for me. I literally have to force myself to be trusting. I could say that the problem is that people have let me down. It’s true, but that’s not the only problem I have. (I know, you’re probably thinking, “She finally admits it!”) The reality is, most of my problem with trust comes down to wanting to be in control. Control is a big deal for me. I don’t know if it’s because there is so much I have felt like I had no control over, or if I am just a control freak. Maybe it’s a little of both. Whatever the reason, trust is so difficult for me. Yet, I know it’s something that I have to do at times. I mentioned a few days ago that I had chosen to trust a friend, and that it has started to lead to me being willing to be more vulnerable with my other friends. So, if I can trust a friend, why do I have such a hard time trusting God?

Trust goes hand in hand with faith. According to Hebrews 11:1, “Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen” (NASB). The question here is not so much about whether I can trust God. It’s more like, am I convinced or convicted of who He is? If I am, then wouldn’t trust come naturally? If I am totally convinced that God will do what He says He will, won’t I live and act as if that were true? Would I not trust Him? The answer seems obvious – just have more faith. But, it’s not that simple, is it? I can’t just “will” myself to have faith. Faith is cultivated by action. At some point, I have to decide if I am going to believe or walk away.

So, what does that look like? For me, that means even though everything in me is screaming at me to run in the opposite direction, I take a step. Just one step in the direction of God. That might mean deciding to take part in a new ministry. Or, perhaps it’s to go somewhere on a missions trip. It’s deciding to take that step forward, not knowing what the result is going to be, but trusting that God will meet me where I am at, and He will not let me fall further than He can reach.

The truth of the matter is, every single time I have chosen to believe that God would do what He said, He has come through for me. From moving to Florida from California, to providing a home for me and my children, to allowing me to wake up and take this next breath. God has never once let me down when I trusted Him fully. So, rather than worry about what tomorrow might bring, I want to bask in the glory of God’s wondrous provision today. I want to step forward and follow Him – I want to trust Him. And in trusting Him, I truly believe He will “make my paths straight.”

What about you? Do you have trouble with trust or does it come easy for you? What do you do that helps you build your faith?

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Comments
  1. birdchirp says:

    Reblogged this on Redbird's Roost.

  2. rockyfort says:

    Reblogged this on Daily Enduring Truth and commented:
    Wow! Did I ever need to read this message today! There is so much happening in the background of my life that I need to trust God with and everything screams that I should run away, to use Karen’s words. Thanks Karen for touching my heart and helping me trust more.

Leave a Reply

