Celebrate!

Posted: February 20, 2014 in Celebrate, Goals, Miscellaneous, Rejoice, Weight Loss
Tags: , , ,

0703132059o

I am the type of person who likes to celebrate the extraordinary. I like it when I can say, “I have finally reached my goal!” And there is nothing wrong with that. But, so often, I am so focused on getting to the “big win” that I fail to notice the “small wins” that come my way. Or, I am so disappointed in the fact that I didn’t reach my goal, that I fail to realize how far I’ve come.

I attend Weight Watchers meetings most Saturdays. One of the things they mention is to look at the non-scale successes. It’s so important in the midst of losing weight to realize that there are other wins besides seeing the numbers go down on the scale. For instance, I have experienced all of the following in the past month, which in the past, I would have ignored, but now, I want to revel in the fact that I have had these “little” successes:

  • I haven’t craved sugar in a month. This is probably the most significant success to me. I have a major sweet tooth – to the extent that once I start eating sugar, I will want to keep eating it until it’s all gone – hence the binge eating I have been known to do. But, to my amazement, I realized the other day, that while I have actually eaten sweets on occasion, I have not craved them, but even more amazing to me, even when I ate them, I didn’t want more. I was satisfied with what I had. And, while before, if they were available, I would partake, but now, I have actually been able to turn down sweets when offered to me. I didn’t even want them. That is truly a success to celebrate.
  • I am able to be more active. If you had told me a year ago that I’d be able to run 3+ miles in 45 minutes, I would have laughed in your face. There was no way I believed that I could do that. I could barely walk without losing my breath. But today, I can run over 3 miles in 45 minutes. I don’t huff and puff when I walk. I don’t lose my breath as much when going up stairs. And, last week, my friends and I participated in a dance mob video for our church. Me! I did that. And I loved it! I so would never have done that even a month ago. What’s not to celebrate?
  • My confidence level has grown by leaps and bounds. I have a tendency to fade back into the shadows. I don’t want to give anyone the chance to reject me. For some reason, I have convinced myself that I am not worth knowing and that anyone who gets to know me will eventually just walk away or reject me outright. But something I have noticed, as I have been moving forward in my journey toward healthiness,is that I have started to become more outgoing. I will admit, this has been a long time coming – and it didn’t start in the past month, but I have noticed a huge leap in the past month toward being the outgoing self I was when I was younger. And I am finding, I really like this side of me. I like that I am not so afraid to open up to others. I love that I am more willing to talk to people I don’t know. I like that I am becoming more confident. That’s a win worth celebrating.
  • My clothes are all getting too big. Yesterday, I put on a pair of pants that I have worn for the past 4 years (no, I am not exaggerating). I went to button them, and they were so loose, I realized that I could actually take them off without unbuttoning them. A month ago, they were a tight fit. And, I have mixed feelings about the fact that I now have to retire them, since they were my most comfortable work pants. But the reality is, I am so pleased to see such progress. I can finally take them out of my wardrobe, and replace them with a new pair of pants. I never expected to see that happen so quickly. Talk about something to celebrate!

That’s just a few of the “small” wins that I’ve had recently. I could probably go on and on about little successes, but the point here wasn’t to brag on what I’ve accomplished (well maybe a little), but rather, to point out, that those my not seem like “big wins” in the grand scheme of things. And I still have a ways to go to get to where I want to be. But I think if I wait until I reach that goal without taking the time to celebrate the “little wins,” I do myself a disservice. The only way to get to my big goal, is to meet little goals, and I need to be willing to celebrate those wins. Because, ultimately, those small steps are what are going to lead to my “big win.” They give me the encouragement to keep going.

What about you? What “small wins” do you have to celebrate? What things are you missing out on celebrating because you’re so focused on reaching that “big win?”

~Until Next Time

Karen Signature

Leave a Reply

