Tell Your Story

Posted: February 18, 2014 in Change, Decisions, Goals, Miscellaneous, Thoughts, Weight Loss, Your Story
Tags: , , ,
0218141009Last night I attended a webinar being led by Jacqueline Carly. She shared with those who attended some of the things we busy women have challenges with when it comes to eating healthy and getting exercise in. Most of what she shared, I have to be honest and say that I already knew. (Of course, we also know that knowing isn’t the same as doing!) But there was one thing that she talked about that resonated with me. She told us to tell our “story.” Not the part of how we got stuck where we’re at, which is often what I tend to dwell on. Instead, she said, “What is the story behind your goal? Why is it that you do what you do?” She wanted us to look at what we need to take into account and then look at the total package of what we will need to deal with – but without the excuses that many of us, me included, tend to use to keep us from moving forward. And that made me think because I so often get stuck on the where I’ve been, that I forget where I’m trying to go.So, here is my story. I have a goal to lose weight. I have about another 80-85 lbs to lose before I am at the goal range I’d like to get to. Jacqueline called this an “outcome goal.” This goal is dependent upon my behaviors. So, what are the goals I have set, so that ultimately, I can get to my end goal? Well, first, I need to eat healthy. One goal I have set is to eat in a healthy manner as much as possible. For me, that has meant cutting out most of the processed foods, eating foods with less sugar, and eating more fresh fruits and vegetables. Do I fail sometimes? Absolutely! But that isn’t a reason to quit. When I fail, I acknowledge it, and I get back on track.

Another goal I have set, is to get more movement in. So, as I have mentioned before, I started running again. I run three times a week, and I do Pilates three days a week. I also fit in at least one 15 minute walk per day most days. I have found that, unlike the past times that I have tried to do this, I am totally loving it this time. I love the feeling I get after I get done with a particularly difficult run or workout. I feel like I have accomplished something, and that I am making a difference in my life – a positive difference.

The results of just these two goals has been that since January 11, I have lost a total of 15 lbs. This isn’t the first time I have tried to lose this weight. I have gone back and forth for so many years, I was beginning to think I’d never succeed. So, what is different this time? Why am I succeeding more this time than I have ever done before? It took me a little while to figure it out, but I think I know at least part of why I am succeeding. Always before, I was focused on those numbers on that scale. If those numbers didn’t move, I got frustrated and wanted to give up. In fact, I often stopped trying so hard. I’d go through the motions, but I hated every moment of it. And then I would binge on foods that were not healthy for me. It was no wonder I couldn’t succeed. I was doing it for all the wrong reasons. I would say that I was doing it for my health, but I didn’t really mean it – I was lying to myself. This time, though, I am truly doing it because I want to be strong and healthy. I want to set a good example for my girls. I want to leave them a legacy of healthful living – not just physical, but emotional and spiritual as well. I want to be my best, so that I can give my best.

The other reason I think I am succeeding more this time than I ever have before is, I have a much stronger support system. I have friends who help hold me accountable, and I them. They push me to go when I want to give up. They help me to stay on track. I had heard it before, and I always thought I had a strong support system, but the reality was, I didn’t. I had competitiveness and sabotagers. Getting healthy is not a competition. It’s making positive changes that in the long run affect me and all those around me in a way that brings about the best in us all.

So, that’s my story. This is why I do what I do. I truly believe that this is my year, the year when I make the positive changes that have been so necessary. I’ve already started, and the little successes I have seen so far have made me hunger for more. I look forward to what the rest of this year will bring.

What about you? What’s your story? What makes you get out of bed each morning and do what you do? What are your goals? I’d love to hear from you.

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Leave a Reply

