No Business [Insert Activity Here]

Posted: February 6, 2014 in Christianity, Pride, Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , ,

My Running Shoes

So, I’ve been sick since yesterday. I contracted some stomach bug apparently, and am still not feeling well today. I spent most of yesterday – OK all of yesterday – lying in my bed, except for a 1-hour period during which I moved to lie down on my love seat to watch my favorite TV show, and then back to my bed I went. This morning, I woke up, and I was not feeling better. As I have shared, I’ve been running, and today just happens to be a day I was supposed to run. I convinced myself that it would be OK because I wasn’t dizzy, and it was just a stomach ache. No big deal, right? Wrong! It was a big deal. The truth is, I had no business running today. I should have stayed home. I should have rested. But I didn’t. I went running. Have I mentioned, I’m pretty stubborn about things? I was so intent upon getting my run in, that I decided to do it, even at the expense of my health.

Well, they say natural consequences work best. I got about a mile and a half into my run when I stepped wrong and twisted my left ankle. I walked it off, and it wasn’t hurting anymore, so I said, “I can keep going.” A few seconds later – not even minutes, really seconds – I stepped wrong and twisted my right ankle. After that, I decided that perhaps running in my sick state was probably not the best use of my energy. So I walked, or limped (however you want to look at it) the rest of the way home. And I may not have been dizzy when I started out, but I sure was by the time I got home.

As I was walking, I started thinking about how stubborn I can be. I mean, I knew from the beginning I shouldn’t have even tried running. I knew it. But my stubbornness overrode my common sense. As I was running, I was just feeling sicker and sicker, but instead of stopping, my stubbornness caused me to push on. Even after I twisted my ankle the first time, I was insistent that I could do it. The reality was, I knew better. But I kept going anyway.

Proverbs 16:18 says, “Pride goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall” (NASB). See, my stubbornness was born out of pride. I take pride in my abilities and my strength. Today, my pride caused me to do something that I shouldn’t have. And, while there was no actual fall, I did hurt myself. When I allow pride to override my common sense or to goad me into doing something that’s not good for me, I “fall.” Taking pride in my abilities isn’t the problem. I think we all need to take pride in what we can accomplish. But when my pride starts to override my common sense, it becomes a danger. It causes me to think more of myself than I really should. Romans 12:3 says, “For through grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself than he out to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has alloted to each a measure of faith.” I am not supposed to think too highly of myself and my abilities. I am supposed to think and have “sound judgment.” Today, I did not do that, and I paid the consequences.

Hopefully, after today’s experience, I will practice sound judgment. Hopefully, I will stop and think things through more carefully, instead of allowing my stubbornness and pride take over. I am sure that I will probably have other occasions where pride will rear its ugly head, but after this, maybe I will be less quick to engage in an activity I have no business participating in.

What about you? Do you have activities that you have engaged in when you shouldn’t have? How do you keep pride and stubbornness from causing you to fall?

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Comments
  1. I think stubbornness can be a positive trait – after all if you don’t push yourself sometimes how will you alter anything in to a major degree in life?

    • Karen G says:

      Thanks so much for your comment! 🙂

      I understand what you are saying, I just think perhaps we are defining “stubborn” differently. I tend to look at being “stubborn” as sticking to something even when there are good reasons to let it go. It is more of a negative trait to me. On the other hand, I do believe we need to push ourselves – I consider that determination, tenacity, perseverance, rather than being stubborn.

      Regardless of the word preference, I do understand and agree that we do need to push ourselves at times. I know that I need to do that to get out of my comfort zone a lot and try new things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

