Love & Respect in the Family by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs

Posted: February 2, 2014 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I recently read the book, Love & Respect in the Family by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs. I don’t often get the opportunity to read books written by those who I’ve heard speak, so I was pleased to have found this as a book available for review. The book is a look at parenting your children in a way that is compatible with Biblical teaching. Dr. Eggerich writes about the things that worked in his own parenting and the things that didn’t work. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy the book was to read. I found his writing style easy to follow and really enjoyed the book.

Love and Respect

There were a lot of things to like about this book. First and foremost, I think my favorite thing about this book is that it’s not a “fix your child quick” book. Dr. Eggerich very clearly states that reading this book is not going to ensure that you have well-behaved, perfect children when you finish reading it. In fact, this isn’t really about the kids at all. Dr. Eggerich states that “parenting is for parents only.” In other words, parenting isn’t about making your children perfect, it’s about parenting in a way that leads your child to follow in the ways of Christ. Dr. Eggerich gives good practical advice that is easy to follow. In fact, he uses an acronym, “GUIDES,” as a way to remind parents how best to lead their children. His illustrations were excellent and really underscored the points he was making in the book. I also liked how open and honest he was about his and his wife’s own failures in raising their children. As he waited to write this book until his children were grown, he was able to take an objective look back at his own parenting to see where he might have missed the mark. In fact, he even asked his own children to weigh in on the topic. I liked his honesty in sharing. The only thing that I found lacking is that his only emphasis was on the two-parent family. This makes sense, as he only has experience in that arena. However, it would have have been nice to have that topic touched on as there are so many single-parent families these days, including mine. At the same time, though, I do believe that his principles can be applied as much to a single-parent family as to the traditional, two-parent family.

I highly recommend this book to other parents. I think they will find this book to be a good resource and help in raising their children. I have found, personally, that my own parenting style has started to improve as I have put his advice into practice with my children. I believe this is the best book on parenting that I have personally read, and I have read quite a few. At the very least this will give parents a good basis for leading their children from a Biblical perspective.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Leave a Reply

