Not So Resolute

Posted: January 6, 2014 in Decisions, Miscellaneous
Tags:

In the face of all of those putting together their resolutions, I sit here, trying to figure out what mine are.  It’s now January 6, and I have yet to figure out what my intentions are for this year.  I almost always have my resolutions in place by the end of New Year’s Day, but this year, I didn’t even begin to contemplate them.

The truth is, I’m overwhelmed by all I want to accomplish, and I don’t even know what I want out of this year.  It’s like my inspiration for growth and change has gone on hiatus, and I don’t know how to get it back.  I’ve read countless blogs, articles, stories, etc about others and their thoughts on what resolutions should consist of, and I realized today, I just don’t care.

I don’t care if I lose weight by the end of this year.  I don’t care if I write a certain number of blog postings.  I don’t care if I read a certain number of books.  I just don’t care to create a list of things to check off that I probably won’t even get to half of.  I’m tired of setting impossible goals that I will never reach.

So, this year, I’m resolving not to resolve (which is, of course, a contradiction in terms).   Instead, I will take each day as it comes, and make each day its own resolution – to live it to the best of my ability.  Maybe at the end of this year, I will feel like I accomplished something worth doing.  Maybe, just maybe, I’ll learn and grow even more than I ever dreamed possible.

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Leave a Reply

