When Life Throws a Curveball

Posted: July 29, 2013 in Frustration, Growth, Love, Miscellaneous, Thoughts, Vulnerability

Life is always going to be full of little surprises.  Things are going to happen that can’t be planned for or controlled.  Setbacks will happen.  Good or bad, curve balls are going to be thrown.  The question is, what am I going to do when those curveballs are flung at me?

Last week, I read a blog post written by Michael Hyatt titled, “A Question That Changes Everything.”  In this post he writes, “One of the best questions you can ask when something negative happens is this: ‘What does this experience make possible?’”  That question made me stop and think.  How many times do I let negative circumstances or incidents turn me into a complainer?  How many times have I cowered and refused to move forward because something negative might happen?  How many times have I chosen to give up, instead of move forward because life threw me a curveball and my life was upset?

Yesterday, my oldest daughter sprung some bad news on me while we were driving home from choir practice.  She told me about something she had done that she was not proud of…something I had warned and warned her not to do.  My first reaction, I must admit, was not exactly something I am proud of.  In fact, I had to ask for her forgiveness and God’s because I set a very bad example.  Or, another way to look at it is, I set a very good example of what not to do when your child springs unwelcome news on you.  In any event, my heart is breaking for my daughter because this choice she made cannot be undone.

After I had taken a few minutes to calm down, we discussed what had happened.  And that blog posting I read popped into my mind.  “What does this experience make possible?”  I paused.  I prayed.  And I realized, this experience made it possible for me to show my daughter unconditional love.  I could have chosen to make her feel worse.  I could have chosen to hold this against her forever.  I could have chosen to make the situation worse….which is really where I was headed at first.  Instead, my daughter now knows that I love her no matter what huge mistakes she makes.  She now knows that I am not going to abandon her just because she has done something wrong and made a bad decision.  And she now knows that there is nothing that she can do that is unforgivable.

I learned some things, too.  I learned that taking a moment to stop and ask a question can defuse a situation before it even starts to spark.  I learned that, with God’s strength, I can love without condition.  I learned that, even though I make mistakes, my daughter is just as willing to forgive me, too.  And most of all, I learned to love and accept my daughter – mistakes and all.

So, now, when life throws me curveballs, I’m not going to fall to the ground and cower in fear.  I’m not going to whine, grumble and moan.  I’m going to get up, and I’m going to ask myself what is made possible by that situation.  And then, I’m going to hit that curveball right out of the park.

I’d love to hear from you.  What do you do when you find yourself in negative situation?  How do you respond when life throws you a curveball?

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Comments

Leave a Reply

