Change: That Dreaded Word

Posted: July 25, 2013 in Change, Thoughts
Tags: , ,

I hate change.  Change means new and different…and most of all, scary.  Change means I have to step outside my comfort zone.  Change means danger, risk, and taking a chance.  It means going out on a limb and hoping for the best.

I know, I know.  Not all change is bad.  In fact there are lots of changes that are good.  Without change we cannot grow and thrive.  I know that.  But that doesn’t make me desire change any more.  And yet, lately, I have felt more and more like God is pushing me to incite change – change in the lives of others – but more in my own life.

I have spent much of my life sticking with the status quo and refusing to change anything because change, to me, has always meant giving up control, and I am a major control freak.  Yes, I admit it.  I am a control freak.  If I can’t control everything around me, that means I can’t control the results of specific actions.  Here’s the thing I’ve been learning most…(come close, I’m going to whisper it)…I don’t really control anything.

Every time I have thought I have been in control, some event or person (or God) has come through and “upset the apple cart.”  And thus, change has swept into my life, knocked me off my feet and onto my behind.  Ouch!

So, when I say that I feel God pushing me to incite change, I don’t say that lightly.  I’m beginning to see that I have two choices.  I can sit here and stick with the status quo, and let change happen to me – which I generally end up hating.  Or I can make change happen, and try something new that I’ve always wanted to try or even step outside my comfort zone.  The question is, do I want to be the one who sits by and lets change happen to her or do I want to be the person who embraces and effects change?

The thing about being the one to effect change is that when I am the instigator of change, I get to have some say in what the change is.  I’m still not in control.  And actually, that’s OK – better than OK even.  Because I am choosing to make a difference.  I’m not sitting there being a victim saying, “Woe is me, my life is being all turned upside down again.”  Instead I get to join in the excitement of making a difference.

I’m tired of being the person who sits on her behind waiting for something to happen.  I want to be the person who makes change happen and the one that leads others to make change happen in their lives too.  I want to make a difference in my life and the lives of others.  I want to do big things for God like I’ve never done before.  I want to touch people’s lives.  I’ve been the victim long enough.  It’s time to become the victor that God has made me to be.

What are your thoughts about change?  Do you feel like you are waiting for change to happen to you, or do you feel like you’re making change happen?  Have you ever felt that there was more you were supposed to do but were too afraid to try?  Share your thoughts with me.  I’d love to hear them!

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Comments
  1. horsez1996 says:

    You go mom. Change is good for EVERYONE.

Leave a Reply

