Excuses

Posted: July 20, 2013 in Thoughts, Writing
Tags: , , ,

I have had some difficulties with writing lately, so I did a search this afternoon for desktop wallpapers that would inspire me to write.  In doing so, I came across one that said the following: “Writers write.  Everyone else makes excuses.”

©Morten Brunbjerg

As you can see, there’s nothing outstanding or brilliant about the wallpaper.  It’s very plain and simple.  So, what about this particular wallpaper struck me, when there were so many other more creative and interesting wallpapers?

I believe that it was because the truth that was told in such a simple, direct way.  I saw wallpapers that had great sayings about writing, beautiful artwork, fancy writing, etc.  And they were all great.  But this one stood out to me because the truth is, while those other wallpapers might inspire (and they do!), all that really matters is that writers write.  They don’t make excuses about why they can’t write or how they don’t have the time or the tools or the energy to write.  They just write.

Lately, I’ve been in the class of the “everyone else” mentioned on this wallpaper.  I have made excuse after excuse about why I can’t just sit down and write.  “I’m too tired after work.”  “I don’t have time to write.” “I have nothing interesting to say.”  And the excuses go on and on and on and on.

The reality is, I have not been acting like a writer.  I have had time to do other non-productive things, such as play Farmville, Sims, talk, watch tv, etc.  But I don’t have time to write?  Hmmm…..  so my excuse of “I don’t have time to write” doesn’t really work.

I can probably make a case for why every one of my excuses doesn’t pan out, but I don’t think I need to.  I just need to stop excusing my lack of discipline, and I need to write.  I need to make a time to write consistently.  If I don’t have something interesting to say, that’s OK.  I can just write for myself that day.  Who says I have to share every piece of my writing with everyone?  Not all writing needs an audience outside of myself.  I think I have perhaps deceived myself into thinking that my writing is contingent upon what everyone else wants to read.  Yes, as a writer, I want others to read my writing, but I need to learn to be OK if sometimes I am the only person who ever reads something I write.

Because ultimately, I don’t write because of other people.  I write because I love to write, and I love getting my thoughts out of myself and onto a blank piece of paper.  I love seeing words fill up a page, and I love being able to express myself in a meaningful way.  I have silenced myself by deceiving myself with excuses, and that stops today, now, in this moment.

Have you ever been a victim of deceiving yourself with excuses about why you can’t do something that you should be doing?  I don’t mean what others think you should be doing, but what you know you’re supposed to do.  What do you do when you find yourself making excuses?  How do you get back on track?  I’d love to hear your thoughts and how you combat excuses.

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Comments
  1. I agree. I have so many excuses for everything and they are so deeply habitual that I do not even think about it. Thank you for reminding me that people take action. Period. 🙂

  2. […] Excuses (karenk76.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

