Sherlock Holmes and the Needles Eye by Len Bailey

Posted: June 16, 2013 in Book Reviews
Tags: , , , , , ,

When I first selected this book to read and review, I was skeptical. I didn’t really think that it would interesting, and the idea of a Bible Study being embedded within the threads of a novel just did not appeal to me. But still, I felt drawn to the book, so I read it. I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed finding the answers to the Bible Study questions, and the novel was both entertaining and informative.

Sherlock HolmesThe book is authored by Len Bailey, who wove the search for the answers to ten of the Bible’s mysteries into a novel about the renowned Sherlock Holmes. In it, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson find themselves using a time machine called the “Needles Eye” to travel to the locations of these mysteries. In the novel, Holmes and Watson travel to places such as Jerusalem to see the accusation of the harlot, Philippi where Paul and Silas were imprisoned and later freed from their chains, and Bethlehem to see Joseph and Mary escaping from Jerusalem with Jesus, to name a few. While there, they saw an event or part of an event and had to solve the mystery behind that particular event. Len Bailey did a great job of entwining fact with fiction, which made this book engaging and interesting to read.

Overall, I highly recommend the book, but I do caution the reader to take into account what is actual fact and what is conjecture. The events and time periods are well-researched and the conclusions do make sense with what is presented. However, there were a couple of conclusions that were reached, that seem to me to be more conjecture than fact. I’m not saying it couldn’t have been correct, but I also don’t believe that the evidence fully backs the claims being made. Once specific example for me is in Chapter 2, “Dignified Harlots,” where the author makes claims about what Christ wrote on the ground when the religious leaders were accusing her of being caught in the very act of adultery. I’m not saying that the author’s conclusion doesn’t make sense, but I don’t think that we can really know that for sure, since Scripture doesn’t come out and say what Jesus wrote, so to make that claim as fact doesn’t seem right to me. However, I don’t think that one should simply dismiss the book because of that because the argument does make good logical sense, and it could be correct.

This book did help me understand some of the “mysteries” presented much better. It gave good background, historical references and Biblical evidence in each chapter. I was impressed with the knowledge of the author, and I think it would make a good addition to anyone’s library.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com®  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~Until Next Time,

Karen Signature

Leave a Reply

