Top Ten Things I Stand For

Posted: August 13, 2012 in Christianity, Thoughts, Truth
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been increasingly discouraged by the negative statements that I have seen about affairs in the world today.  Recently, I saw someone frustrated because the world focuses on what Christians are against, rather than what they stand for.  My response to that is, of course they do!  The reason the world focuses on what Christians stand against is because all too often that is what Christians focus on.  We are so busy focusing on why particular acts and lifestyles are sinful, and less about what Christ did for each one of us.

All this bickering back and forth between Christians and non-Christians, Christians and Christians, and so on, caused me to stop and think.  What is it that I do stand for?  Are there things that I stand for that are being camouflaged by all the focus on what I am against?  With that said, I decided to do a top ten of all the things I do stand for.  So, without further ado, here it is!

10.  I stand for common courtesy. These days, I am appalled at the lack of courtesy people show toward each other.  It used to be that people would say “Thank you” when someone helped them.   They used to say “Please” when they wanted something.  People also said “Excuse me” when they interrupted or bumped into someone.  Increasingly, I see that not happening today.  It’s horrifying.  When did common courtesy become a thing of the past?

9. I stand for hard work and earning what you get.  All too often, I see people who feel like they are “entitled” to have what they have.   After all, we live in a free country, right?  We’re supposed to be happy.  I’d like to give the reminder that we are all entitled to the “pursuit of happiness.”  Pursuit implies work.  You work for what you get.   My own children often express this feeling of entitlement.  They feel like they should just be handed things, even though they haven’t earned them.  There is a time and a place for that.  For example, I don’t make them earn what I buy them for the birthday or Christmas.  However, I do make them earn what they get other times.  Either they have to save up, or they have to work it off.  Either way, they are not “entitled” to anything.  Neither are the rest of us.  Besides, I find there is greater enjoyment of whatever I wanted if I have worked for it.  There’s a great sense of accomplishment that cannot be obtained by just being handed something.

8. I stand for holding our children accountable.  Let’s face it, our children are going to make mistakes.  After all, we’re adults and we still make mistakes, so it stands to reason our children will, too.  However, that does not mean that our children should be let off the hook when they mess up.  When my daughters make a bad decision, they are disciplined for it.  They lose a privilege (or more depending on the circumstances), they don’t get to do something they want to do, and/or they don’t get to do anything extra-curricular.  There is nothing wrong with that.  It teaches them to be responsible and to stop and think before they act.  If my parents hadn’t disciplined me, I would have walked all over them.  I would have grown up to expect that I could do what I want, and I would think I didn’t have to do the things I didn’t want to.  Yet, for some reason, many parents today do let their kids walk all over them and don’t make them do the things they should.  This gives them a skewed view of how the world works.  Basically, they need to learn that they get from life what they put into it. 

7.  I stand for strong family values.  I believe that certain activities need to wait until marriage.  I don’t mean should wait for marriage.  I mean need to wait for marriage.  Basically, if you’re not ready to take on the responsibility for the consequences that come from an action, then you shouldn’t be participating in the activity that could lead to the consequence.  Further than that, I believe that if you are not ready to take on commitment with someone, then there are certain activities that should not be taking place.  It’s really that simple.  I believe that family comes before work.  In fact,  I believe the family unit is the most dynamic relationship  in the world today.   I might get some questions about that from people who know me and some of the things I have done.  I mean after all, I obviously had my children outside of wed-lock.  I certainly didn’t take my own advice.  However, I believe that qualifies me to be able to make this statement.  I’ve lived it.  I know how stupid my actions were.  I know how unprepared I was.  However, I also did take responsibility for my own actions, and I have worked hard to become better than I was, and to teach my children what I didn’t learn myself.

6. I stand for good education.  I want my children to learn.  I want them to have good opportunities, and I want them to take advantage of those opportunities.  Without a good education, there is no foundation on which they can stand to move forward in life.  A good education is key to success.  However, I don’t necessarily believe that our school system gets it right.  They focus on the wrong things sometimes.  They look more at a test score than a student’s overall performance.  They rely on a computer to decide what a child needs instead of  looking at the child and observing them.  They try to fit our children into a box, while at the same time telling them to reach for their goals and follow their dreams.  If ever there was a mixed message, that’s it.

5. I stand for freedom of religion.  Before my fellow-Christians get all up in arms about this, let me explain.  Everyone has a right to believe what they want to believe.  Everyone.  None of us can force someone else to follow our belief system.  It won’t work.  Beliefs are a heart-driven thing.  I will fully support a Muslim’s right to believe as they do.  I will do the same for someone who is a Buddhist, Christian, Atheist, etc.  I don’t agree that someone is necessarily correct in what they believe, but I do support their right to believe it.  However, at the same time, I believe that everyone should have equal right to express their religion.  Christians (teacher and students) have been told that they are not allowed to speak about their beliefs, and in some cases  have been ostracized and reprimanded just for taking part in their beliefs.  My own daughter was told that she needed to put her Bible away because her having it out was stopping others from being able to express their beliefs.  How does my daughter reading her Bible keep someone else from expressing their religion?  For that matter, how does her sharing what she believes do that?  It’s no different than an Atheist expressing he/she doesn’t believe in God.  She’s not forcing it on anyone.  She stops when they ask her to.  I sense a double-standard here.  Everyone should be able to express and discuss and talk about their beliefs.  That’s how we learn.  It’s how we relate to one another – and it engenders mutual respect.

4. I stand for treating people with love, regardless of their life choices.  Again, I’m not saying I agree with every choice someone makes.  I fully agree that God’s Word has strong things to say about certain actions and activities.  However, I also believe that each one of us has lived in sin.  God’s Word says, “For all have sinned and fall short of the Glory of God” (Romans 3:23) and “There is none righteous, no not one” (Romans 3:10).  It also says that there is no one sin that is greater than another sin, and “he who is without sin, let him cast the first stone” (John 8:7).  I don’t have to agree that someone’s made all the right choices in life to treat him/her with love and respect.  Someone who lies is just as wrong as someone who cheats on his wife.  I had sex outside of marriage.  That doesn’t make me any worse than the person who gossips or spreads lies.  It makes me a sinner in need of forgiveness.  By God’s grace, I have repented and been forgiven for the wrongs that I committed in my life.  That does not give me the right to keep making them.  It does not give me the right to judge.  That’s God’s job.  My job is to treat people with the same love with which Christ treated sinners.  That doesn’t mean I condone their choices – it means I choose to treat them with love and respect in spite of their choices.

3. I stand for being kind.  This goes hand in hand with common courtesy – but it goes further.  Be kind to each other.  Don’t say or do things that hurt people.  In other words, do unto others what you’d want them to do toward you.

2.  I stand for being generous.   If someone is in need, we need to help them.  This is more than just saying the right words or doing the right things.  This is seeing a need, and meeting it – and then some.   I can’t honestly say that I have been perfect at that, but it is something that I have been trying to be better at.

1. I stand for honesty.  If there is one thing that frustrates me more than anything else, it is lies.  I hate to be lied to, and I try to refrain from lying.  Again, not something I’m perfect at, but something I do try not to do.  Lies do more damage to you than anything else.  I can respect someone who tells me the truth, no matter what they’ve done, but I cannot respect someone who lies.

So, there you have it.  The top 10 things I stand for.  Do you have a list of things you stand for?  I would love to read about.  Feel free to share below.

Until Next Time!

Comments

Leave a Reply

