The Truth and Nothing But

Posted: July 28, 2012 in Christianity, Thoughts, Truth
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The first to please his case seems right, until another comes and examines him. (Proverbs 18:17, NASB)

I love the book of Proverbs – and not just because it’s part of the Bible.  I love this book of God‘s Word because it contains great wisdom.  That wisdom is useful for all of life and not just for those of us who profess to be Christians.

Take the verse above, for example, In a trial, one lawyer questions and another cross-examines.  If that did not take place, the judge and/or jury would only get one side of the story, and their verdict would be biased toward whichever side they got to hear.  I’m sure that we can agree that a trial where only one side is heard would be considered unfair.

Yet how often do we work that way in our relationships with others?  I know there have been times when I have failed to get one person’s side of the story because another friend told me something about that person, and I believed him/her.  Later I found out that the part I had heard was not the whole story.  I am not saying that my friend(s) lied, only that their story was biased toward the side he/she was sharing with me.  When I got the other side of the story, again, that story was biased toward the person telling me.  The reality was somewhere in the middle, in most cases.

One of the greatest examples I have of this “phenomenon” is my daughters.  When they try to involve me in their “spats”, my older daughter will place the blame squarely on the shoulders of her sister and vice versa.  When I break their stories down, I find, in most cases, there is truth in both stories and half-truths in both.  The truth lies in the middle.

So, if this is the case, what should I do with this knowledge?  It has taken me a long time, and I still have times I fail miserably, but what I have learned is to get both sides of a story.  Before I make accusations, I try to listen to everyone involved, and if possible, I will get the facts from objective witnesses to what took place.  I try not to judge without having heard both sides of the story.  Generally, when I wait and get the facts instead of reacting to one side of the story, I am able to reasonably determine the truth and make wise judgments.

By contrast, when I fail to take into account both sides of a story, I tend to make hasty judgments, and in every case where I have made a hasty judgment, someone has ended up hurt.  So, in all cases, I would do well to remember these wise words from Proverbs and get the whole story before deciding what’s true or false.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

