This morning I received a call from my Dad.  I was in the middle of something else, and the temptation was to let it go to voicemail and check in with him later.  But I just couldn’t do that.  This was my Dad calling.  “And besides,” I told myself, “you just don’t ignore a call from your Dad.”  My Dad is important to me, so I want to make sure that when he calls, I answer.

Often when I have these “conversations” with myself, they lead me to thinking other types of thoughts, such as, “I wonder if that’s what I do with God sometimes?”  How many times have I felt that I needed to be in God’s Word instead of doing whatever it was I was doing a point in time?  How often have I said, “I’ll get to it later” or “I’m too busy right now”?  How often have I “ignored” His request to respond in a certain manner or say a certain thing, or even go to a certain place?  How often?

There are so many times in my life, even recently, when I have put off my time with God in favor of something, or someone, else.  I do “great” sometimes, “ok” most times, and then there are those times when I just “fail” when it comes to my relationship with God.  Yet, isn’t my relationship with God supposed to be my most important relationship?

The Bible says God is my Father in Heaven.  He created me.  He gives me good gifts.  He provides for all my needs.  He is with me even when I don’t ask Him.  He picks me back up when I fall.  He cradles me in His arms when I need comfort.  And yet, I will ignore His voice when He calls me to do something I am either too scared to do or just don’t want to do.  I will push Him aside and only pay attention when I need Him for something.  I will turn my back when I want to go my own way.  I do not make this up – I have done all of these things at some point in my life.

Yet, how much more important is it that I “take that call” from God?  How much more important is it that I put Him first in my life.  If my earthly Dad is so important, that I would drop what I am doing to take his call or change my plans to spend time with him, how much more important is my Heavenly Father supposed to be in my life?  Shouldn’t He be number one?

My prayer for me and for you is that we would remember who our Heavenly Father is, and we would respond to Him in a worthy manner.  My prayer is that we would recognize His importance in our lives and put Him first.  My prayer is that when He calls, we will answer.  After all, “You don’t ignore a call from your Dad.”

Until Next Time,

Comments

Leave a Reply

