Today I bought a 10x Magnification Mirror.  Imagine the ability to see your flaws 10x bigger than they actually are.  I’m sure most women would know what I’m talking about, especially those of us who are getting older and having found hair growing in areas where hair never grew before.  I must say, I was quite amazed at how much I could see of my flaws.  It was a bit unattractive.  As I was utilizing said mirror – for the purpose for which it was made – my daughter walked past and said, “You sure like that mirror, don’t you?”  “Like” is not the word I’d use.  More like, I “need” the mirror.  Without that mirror, I can’t see all the flaws on my face, and then “fix” them.  I don’t really “like” to see them, but because I want to put forth a “flawless” appearance, I use the mirror to highlight those areas that I most want to “fix”.

That of course got me to thinking.  Sometimes it seems the most mundane things get me to seeing parallels in the Word of God.  How often do I avoid God’s Word when I don’t want to see some “flaw” in my life?  How often do I choose to set it aside because then I couldn’t do what I wanted to do?  How many times have I said, “Oh I’ll do that later,” when I knew I needed to be in God’s Word?

See, God’s word acts as a mirror in my life.  Through His Word, I can see those areas where I most need work.  I don’t really like to see the bad things about myself.  I’d like to think that I’ve gotten better with time.  In fact, in some areas, I have improved.  But there are always going to be areas where I can do better – where I can be better.  There are always going to be flaws in my life, this side of Heaven.  God’s Word is able to highlight those areas in my life that I am weak in.  2 Timothy 3:16-17 says:

16  All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17 so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. (NASB)

When I do wrong, if I am keeping myself in God’s Word, I feel it.  Verses will come to my mind that remind me of who I am supposed to be in Christ.  I can’t do it by myself.  I’m not able to see my flaws the way that God can.  God uses His Word to teach me those areas where I need to grow and mature.  I don’t always like what I see.  In fact, more often than not, I see areas that need major attention.  But when I am willing to use God’s Word as my mirror, I am able to see those areas where I need work, and then do something about it.

So, the next time I find myself wanting to ignore God’s Word for temporary pleasures, I hope I prove strong enough to set aside the temptation and spend time with God.  My relationship with Him should be more important to me than anything that I could have here on this earth.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

