Healing is a Choice by Stephen Arterburn

Posted: April 21, 2012 in Book Reviews, Christianity, Healing
Tags: , , , ,


I just finished reading Healing is a Choice by Stephen Arterburn this morning. I selected this book, thinking that it was going to be just another “self-help” book.  Instead, I found that it had a lot of truth in it.  Stephen Arterburn doesn’t say anywhere in this book that healing is easy.  He doesn’t say that this book is a quick-fix trick.  He doesn’t say that by reading this book, you’ll have it all figured out and healing will come ‘just like that’.  Instead, he suggests this as a starting point.  This book gives tools to move through and past the hurts in our lives and to CHOOSE healing.  In this book, Stephen Arterburn takes us through 10 healing choices we can make and 10 lies that keep us from making them.  Each chapter builds on the previous chapter, and the thread that links them all together is that healing is God’s choice.

If you’re looking for a quick fix, this book is not for you.  If you are looking for a book with all the answers, this book is not for you.  But if you’re looking for a place for healing to begin; if you’re looking for truth; if you’re looking to move past the hurts, this book is the place to start.  I found this book really gave me a place to start.  In fact, I thought I had worked through my issues, and as I was going through this book, I realized, I hadn’t even really scratched the surface.  This book really helped me to realize that I can heal.  I can get past the pains and hurts of my life.  I really liked this book because the author didn’t try to feed me a bunch of quick-fix tactics.  He gave solid principles that can apply not just to healing, but to other areas of my life as well.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking to get through and past the pain and hurts of their lives.  I highly recommend it to everyone, really, since we all have pains and hurts.  This book would be a great addition to anyone’s bookshelf.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

