It’s All About Risk

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Change, Decisions, Growth, Legacy, Miscellaneous, Thoughts
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever noticed that when someone says something that seems to give you a “kick in the pants,” you begin to hear about that “issue” everywhere you turn?  Well, that’s me on when it comes to risk.  I have read and heard a lot about the topic of “risk” lately.  I am reading about it in a book I’m going through on healing.  I’ve heard about it on the radio.  I’ve listened to sermons about risk in church.  It seems the last few weeks that all I’ve heard about is risk.

This, of course, got me to thinking.  If I am hearing about risk all the time lately, then perhaps I need to open up my ears and listen.  And perhaps I might just want to take a look at my life and see how I measure up on the “risk meter”.  What I found is that I am seriously lacking in the risk area.  In fact, I am so against risk, I try not to plan anything that I can’t look at from all directions and think of all possible scenarios.  I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I have noticed that just when I think I’ve thought of all possible scenarios and started moving forward, something happens that shakes my world and causes me to realize that once again, I have not thought of everything.

What I’ve read and heard is that life is about risk.  You can’t live without taking a risk.  Life doesn’t work that way.  Just by getting out of bed, I risk injury.  When I get into my car and drive to work, I risk getting into an accident.  With my kids, I risk making the wrong decision.  At work, I risk making an error – that could ultimately cost me my job.  I take risks every single day without even giving it a second thought.

But when it comes to taking a risk to share myself with others or to step outside my comfort zone or even to be generous to someone else, I tend to refuse to take the risk.  I don’t want to risk rejection or discomfort or the chance that I might not have the money to pay a bill or buy a necessary item.  In short, I’m selfish.  To refuse to risk myself is to say that nobody else is worth my time.  It’s probably the most selfish act that I can commit.

You might say that I take a risk because I love my children.  You would be right – but those risks are for their good.  But what about taking a risk that is for my good or for the good of someone other than family?  When does that become a priority in my life?

You might say that many of my recent posts have dealt with stepping out of my comfort zone and into risk, and you’re right.  I’ve written about it and talked about it…but at some point I have to do it.  I have taken steps.  And I know this will need to be one step at a time, but I want those steps to be bigger and faster.  I don’t want to die in my comfort zone – never having lived.

So, I’ve decided to start making a list of those things that I have “always wanted to do,” and I’m going to start crossing them off my list one by one.  Yes, this sounds eerily similar to making a “bucket list”.  And it’s probably close to what it is.  But it’s more than a “bucket list”.  It’s actually a Legacy List.  By this, I mean it’s a legacy I want to leave for my children and their children and their children’s children, and so on.  This is a list of things that I want to do that will make a difference, not just in my life, but theirs.  A “bucket list” is about being selfish.  A “legacy list” is more about being selfless – making a difference in the lives of others.

The scary thing for me is that I don’t know how this is going to end.  I don’t know what this is going to look like.  I don’t know if I will succeed or fail.  But I do know, I have to do this.  I think God is telling me to open up my eyes and look around.  He’s calling me to take a risk – to trust Him.

What about you?  Are you taking a risk?  Are you putting yourself out there?  I’d love to hear some of the ways you are making a difference and the steps you are taking to leave a legacy to those around you.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

