Rumors of God by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson

Posted: August 6, 2011 in Book Reviews, Christianity
Tags: , , , , ,

Imagine with me, if you will, a world where Christians see their worth, know their hope, live their faith, and dwell in an open community with one another.   I had the privilege of reading Rumors of God, and now to review it, and I have to say, I was very encouraged by this book.  Darren and Jon talk about various “rumors” in this book.  They talk about taking back our minds and our culture, and really living our Christian lives as if the rumors of God are true: He’s loving, generous, and longs for relationship with us.  This book challenges Christians to be open and vulnerable.  To have a community that is open and forgiving – allowing each of us to have our own opinions and being secure enough in our faith to accept and celebrate our differences.  They ask us to step outside our comfort zones.

I originally didn’t want to read this book.  I don’t know why, except, perhaps I was afraid that it would do just what it did – challenge me.  There was nothing dull or boring about this book.  It had me riveted to the words almost from page 1.  But more than that, it caused me to reflect on my own life, and what exactly my purpose as a Christian is.  It challenged some of the clichés and misinformation that I have received and in some cases even bought into a little bit, and got me to see that there is more to being a Christian than going to church on Sunday and “doing” all the right things.  Darren and Jon make their points clearly, but without beating the topics over your head.  They write in an everyday voice, so you don’t have to be a Seminary Graduate to understand what they are talking about, which is probably one of the things I like most about this book.  Overall, this is an excellent read, and I would recommend that EVERYONE read this book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

