Today I’m not feeling very well.  I woke up feeling dizzy and out of focus.  I think I got too much sun yesterday.  I slept through my alarms and so didn’t get up in time to go to my Bible Fellowship class or to service.  I feel slightly better now, but I’m still feeling out of it. I felt bad about missing service at first.  I try to go to church every week, but sometimes things do happen that prevent that.

In my devotional time this morning, I was reading Rumors of God by Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson.  So far it’s a really good book, and I will be reviewing it, once I’ve finished reading it.  In the part I read today, Darren and Jon talk about the difference between grace and mercy, and they used a great analogy.

The analogy included a police officer and “me” as the driver that was speeding/drinking.  First, they asked me to visualize speeding and getting pulled over.  I pray, and say “If you get me out of this, I’ll set my tithe to come out automatically.”  The officer lets me go.  That’s mercy.  I didn’t get the punishment I deserve.  Then they asked me to visualize being drunk and speeding and getting pulled over.  The officer says, “here’s my money and the keys to a new car.  Here’s everything you need to do to assume my identity.  I will go to jail for you, and you can go free.”  That’s grace.

They went on to explain that this is what Jesus did for us.  He saw us in our sin and He loved (loves) us – just as we are.  We don’t have to clean ourselves up to get His love.  He ALREADY loves us.  It really spoke to me to read that because how often do we expect others to “clean up” so that we can be nice to them?  Unfortunately, I see that more often than not.

How encouraging to know that Jesus loves us in our sin, and that He died for us – He assumed our identity – so that we can live a life of freedom and grace.

Until Next Time,

Comments
  1. Debbie says:

    Great analogy. My ‘working definition’ is simply that mercy is not getting what I deserve and grace is getting what I don’t deserve. And along with you, I’m abundantly thankful for the freedom of a life of grace. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. burntheships says:

    I have heard a lot of analogies explaining grace and mercy. This is one that I haven’t heard before, but will have to remember. I had a chance to share the gospel with a co-worker last week and she was getting hung up on “dealing with some things in my life” before making a commitment to Christ. So many people are in that position; trying to change things in their lives first, than making a decision about Jesus.
    I will have to remember this analogy as I continue to share with my co-worker. Thanks for another tool to use as we share the good news of Christ.

  3. I just read this analogy the other day, I am making my way through this book (finally). I realize I am so much more comfortable in the mercy arena. I love grace for me, but I struggle with grace after I have extended it to others. I want to take it back or forget that there is no reciprocation with grace, it is given with no expectation. I hope the new year brings more blogs … Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

