Baby Shower

Posted: July 30, 2011 in Christianity, Encouragement, God's Love, Love, Thoughts, Weight Loss

Today I am going to a baby shower, and I have worried about how I will do considering I’ve been very much working toward losing weight the past couple of months.  I’ve done well, and I don’t want to mess it all up.  This morning, I wrote the following excerpt:

I would be lying if I said that I don’t have some trepidation about the fact that I am going to a baby shower in a little less than 2 hours. It’s being held at a restaurant I’ve never been to, and I’m nervous. What if I mess up? What if I eat more than I intend, or something I shouldn’t? What if I ruin my whole week in this one day?

I know it’s a little irrational to worry about such things. After all, don’t I have the tools that I need to combat temptation? Don’t I know how to say no? Didn’t I just do that yesterday with the pizza? And the answer to all of those things is yes, BUT….

Yes, I have the tools I need, BUT that’s not a guarantee that I will use them. I could set them aside. I have so often before.

Yes, I do know how to say no, BUT I don’t always say no when I should. Sometimes it’s easier to say yes…especially when everyone else is. It’s hard to stand out from everyone else.

Yes, I did say no to the pizza yesterday, BUT just because I did it once, does not mean I will do it again. I can be pushed and swayed by my desires.

So, are my fears truly founded? My answer to that is NO. The above are my negative “what ifs” coming back to haunt me. I am strong. I am determined. I am prepared. There is no reason to be afraid. So, I am going to go to that baby shower, and I am going to have fun. But I am NOT going to spend my time worrying about messing up. I am going to live IN the moment, not FOR the moment. I am going to trust that I have the tools, the ability and the determination to succeed.

And really, that’s all we can do anyway. Life is not a guarantee, and I can’t afford to spend my life in doubt and fear.

As I was writing the above, I realized, that this could apply to my spiritual life as well.  I spend a lot of time asking the negative “What if” questions.  What if I make a mistake?  What if I’m not good enough?  What if I fail?  What if…what if…what if…

So, what if I trusted God?  So, what if I remembered He loves me as I am?  So, what if I lived with and for Him instead of for myself?  The reality is, I spend so much time thinking about the things I am worried about, that I forget to LIVE.  I forget to LEAN ON GOD.  I am not alone.  I do not have to carry the burdens of this life by myself.  I am LOVED – not for what I have or have not done, not for who I am and or am not, not for my beauty or lack thereof.  I am LOVED because I am God’s creation.  He created me…and He already knew all the things I was going to do wrong, and HE LOVED ME ANYWAY.

That’s what I have to remember when I am down and feeling like a failure.  GOD LOVES ME NO MATTER WHAT.  I can NEVER get away from His love.  And that is enough to get me through those difficult times….

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

