God has been speaking to me lately about the words that come out of my mouth.  Not that I always say bad things.  The reality is, that I used to be much worse.  My problem is that I still slip into the language of “potty mouth” on occasion.  Yesterday I wrote about my frustration that I blow up sometimes.  Well, those blow up times also generally include not-so-exemplary language.

I used to think that because I was a Christian, I would never have a problem with this.  All through high school I refrained from using bad language.  Occasionally a friend of mine would try to get me to slip up, but I was always on my guard.  Somehow along the way though, I let my guard down.  I stopped looking out for myself.  I forgot what Peter gave warning about in 2 Peter 3:14-17

14Therefore, beloved, since you look for these things, be diligent to be found by Him in peace, spotless and blameless,  15and regard the patience of our Lord as salvation; just as also our beloved brother Paul, according to the wisdom given him, wrote to you,  16as also in all his letters, speaking in them of these things, in which are some things hard to understand, which the untaught and unstable distort, as they do also the rest of the Scriptures, to their own destruction.  17You therefore, beloved, knowing this beforehand, be on your guard so that you are not carried away by the error of unprincipled men and fall from your own steadfastness, (NASB)

My calling is to stay pure and blameless before God.  That means I need to keep my mouth pure.  “Potty mouth” is not an option for me.  Jesus told us that we would be justified or condemned by our words (Matthew 12:36-37).  I want to speak in such a way that my words justify me.  My prayer is that I will be on guard.  I will be on constant watch, so that I won’t be caught off guard and have a “potty mouth”.  My goal is to set a good example for the children God has given me.  I want to leave a legacy that does not include “potty mouth”.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

