Busy, busy, busy.  That’s what my life is at the moment.  There are moments when I feel like I don’t even have time to breathe.  I have so much on my plate at this time – or so it would seem.  I am Director of our Single Mom’s Adult Bible Fellowship Class (ABF) at church (ReNew). I am, of course, a Mom.  I have a class that I take on Monday night’s while my children are at something else (works out well).  I work a full-time job.  And, on top of all that, I’m moving in less than 3 weeks.  Like I said, busy, busy, busy.

Now, of course, I’m not always this busy – I usually don’t have to pack.  That’s a given.  However, I often find, that I am packing my schedule up with things – events, “play dates,” sleep-overs, etc.  These things take me from what I really want to do.  I am getting better at this, though.  I don’t add nearly as many things as I did a year ago.  I have learned that it’s good to take a break from the hustle and bustle of “things.”  I still have the events that I go to, but I limit them to what can reasonably be handled.  I still allow things into the schedule, but I have learned to balance those things with quiet times, where my children and I can enjoy the company of each other.

However, I also have a way to go.  There are some things that need to stay in our schedule, but I need to be careful about the other things I allow into my schedule.  Our ABF is doing the Bible study, A Mom After God’s Own Heart by Elizabeth George.  One of the things she mentioned was to take stock of the time spent watching TV, and then decide how we can better use that time.

This convicted me, but not about my TV habits.  In that regard, I don’t really have an issue.  But I do have something that takes up time that could be better spent – computer games.  I love computer games.  I am especially enamored of a few games on Facebook.  It’s not that these things are bad, but they have a tendency to take up more time than I intend.  I get lost in the games…and before I know it, my moments with my kids are gone.  It’s not that I do this all the time, but I do it way more than I should.

So, I’ve issued a challenge to myself to spend less time in my games, and more time with my kids.  I want them to see a mom who seeks after the things of God.  I want them to see how much I love and cherish my time with them.  That means, I set aside what I want to make sure they have what they need – time with me.  I’ve also determined that I will spend more time in God’s Word – not just for my benefit, but also for theirs.

How about you?  Is there something that takes up more time than it should?  Is there anything you need to change to seek after the things of God more fully?  Don’t put it off until another day.  That day may never come.  Join me today, and take that next step forward, toward God.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

