Motivation and Willpower

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Miscellaneous, Weight Loss
Tags: , , ,

Each year I set goals for myself that I want to work toward for the year.  I don’t like to call them resolutions because to me resolutions are things that I am “going to do,” and I like to be a woman of my word.  However, goals are something to work toward, and if I complete them great and if I don’t, I still haven’t failed and can continue to work toward them.

This year (as most years), I set a goal to lose weight.  I did not put a specific number to it because that can seem overwhelming.  Up to the last couple of weeks, I have done very well.  But I am finding that my willpower is weakening, and I’m losing the motivation to move forward.  It all started with one day.  One day, I decided I was not going to get up at 5 am as I had been most days since the beginning of January.  One day led to another day, which led to another day, which led to yet another day, until, here I am almost 2 weeks later, and I’ve only worked out one time.

What happened?  Why is it that I can do so well for almost 4 months, and then suddenly, just stop?  Where does my willpower go?  Why does my motivation disappear?  If this were the first time that had happened, I could say that it’s a one-time deal, but this happens every time.  So, to succeed at my goal, I need to figure out what is causing the issue.

Now, with all that said, I’m not giving up.  I refuse to give up.  The motivation behind losing weight is so that I can be healthy and be here for my children.  I know I can’t cheat death, but I can do something to keep myself healthy.  I’m hoping that by telling all of you about my difficulty keeping motivated, it will give me the push I need to get up tomorrow and start fresh.  After all, this week isn’t over yet!

What do you do to stay motivated to complete a goal?  What are some tips/tricks that have worked for you?  What suggestions do you have to help me stay on track?

I look forward to hearing from you!

Until Next Time….

Leave a Reply

