Right vs. Wrong

Posted: April 5, 2011 in Christianity, Decisions, Miscellaneous, Thoughts
Tags: , , ,

Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you could see no “right” answer?  I’m not talking about a decision where the consequences might be unpleasant because you did the right thing.  I’m talking about a situation where it seems that all your options are “wrong” – in other words, you do not see a way out that would not result in doing wrong.  Perhaps I can explain it better by taking a look at the midwives in Exodus at the time of Moses’s birth.

In Exodus 1, we find that Pharaoh has commanded the midwives to let any girl babies live, but to kill any boy babies.  However, because the midwives feared God, they chose not to do so, and disobeyed Pharaoh’s command.  In fact, they lied and said it was because the women gave birth before they got there.  God blessed these midwives because they feared Him – yet they had committed a sin by lying.

Was it o.k. that these midwives were dishonest because they were serving God?  It certainly would seem so.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I’m not implying that God was condoning lying.  However, there are times when things that we are asked to do are in direct violation of a command of God.  For instance, in this case, the midwives would be killing God’s chosen people, so they were working God’s will by preserving them.

What happens when the only options  you see before you would all seem to result in a bad situation?  For instance, I have a dilemma.   I have a three paths before me.

  • Path #1 would mean putting myself in an unhealthy, if not dangerous situation.  In addition, it would involve putting my children in that same unhealthy, if not dangerous situation.
  • Path #2 would be to keep things as they are now.  It would seem that this would be the path of lease resistance.  And while not inherently wrong, by continuing to hold on to something that at least one other person in the situation doesn’t seem to want to hold on to, perhaps I am keeping that person from growing as they could, if I would  just let go.
  • Path #3 would be to take myself out of the situation completely – to break all ties.  However, doing this would mean that I am doing something that I have always believed is wrong.

How do you decide what the right course is?  All of these options have negative consequences of some sort.  Now, I know that nobody can make this decision for me.   However, I want to hear what you think.  What do you think is the best way to make a decision when all the options seem less than desirable?  What is your rule of thumb?  If you were in a similar situation, how would you move forward?

I look forward to reading your responses!!

Until Next Time!

Comments
  1. Nelson Rose says:

    Sounds like a relationship issue. I’ve been there. You really need to way all the options. The best choice is the one that presents a better quality of life for you and your kids. Divorce is always better then staying in a toxic relationship. Just my .02. Best of luck.

  2. Lady I love you and you presented the situation and options well. I know you have examined your heart and tested the situation. Testing faith is doing all I can possibly do and let God fill in what we cannot see ~ press on! Keep wrestling, it will be made clear. I left my abuser and God protected me in that situation before I was strong enough to leave. I was never married and I know that is where your struggle lies, I will keep praying for you.

  3. Karen:
    Path #1 is not an option. I know that God would not want you or your children in a dangerous or unhealthy situation.

    Romans 8:5-8 states that those who live according to the sinful nature have their minds set on what the nature desires and that those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires. Reading your struggle above, you clearly have your mind set on the Spirit. Whatever decision your prayers and conversations lead you to, it is not wrong or sinful because your eyes and heart are on God.

    I’m praying for you, and I know that God will give you strength and comfort.

Leave a Reply

