Waiting

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Christianity, Encouragement, Thoughts, Waiting

I have come to realize that I am generally not a patient person.  Oh, I have my moments when I can be patient, but more often than not, I am as impatient as they come.  I, like many others, prefer instant gratification.  But what I am finding is that God doesn’t generally work that way.  Often He says to wait.

Personally, I don’t like waiting.  I am a “get it over and done with” kind of woman.  But the Bible has a lot to say about waiting on the Lord.  Psalm 27:14 says,

Wait for the LORD;
Be strong and let your heart take courage;
Yes, wait for the LORD. (NASB)

This chapter of Psalms is where David was singing about his trust in the Lord to be with him and keep him safe in spite of wars and enemies around him.  It was a song of trust and strength.  He tells himself to take courage and to wait on the Lord because God would be his protector.  We have that same benefit.  Psalm 33:20 says,

Our soul waits for the LORD; He is our help and our shield. (NASB)

Imagine that!  God is our help and our shield.  He doesn’t leave us to handle it all alone.

Not only is God our protector, when we wait on Him, He shows us His favor.  Psalm 147:11 says,

The LORD favors those who fear Him, Those who wait for His lovingkindness.

God gives favor to those who are willing to wait on Him.  He wants to give us good things.  He wants to bless us.  But sometimes, we have to go through a difficult waiting period to get them.  And sometimes that means waiting until we get to heaven to see the blessings He has in store for us.  But aren’t the good things, isn’t His lovingkindness, worth waiting for?

Finally, those that wait on the Lord will have their strength renewed.  Isaiah 40:31 says,

Yet those who wait for the LORD Will gain new strength; They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.

I am learning that as I wait on the Lord, He gives me new strength.  He gives me the ability to move forward and carry on.  As I wait on Him, He leads me in His ways.  He helps me to know the next step to take, and while I may become physically weary, spiritually I remain strong when I put my trust in Him and wait.

So, I am learning that waiting is not a terrible thing.  Often the rewards received at the end are that much more enjoyable because I waited for them.  I am finding that waiting on Him is more fulfilling that moving forward under my own strength.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

