Rest

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Christianity, Rest, Thoughts

Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.  (Matthew 11:28-29, NASB)

Rest is very much on my mind today.  It probably has something to do with the fact that I am feeling so extremely tired.  As I was lying on my bed trying to force myself to get up and move, so I can go to work this morning, the verses above came to mind.

Jesus said, “Come unto me all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest” (vs 28).  How often do I call on Jesus when I am weary or burdened?  I do sometimes, but more often, I try to muddle through on my own.  But Jesus said that if I call on Him, He will give me rest.  How comforting to know that He is there to do that for me.  I do not have to muddle through on my own power.

Sometimes I get so caught up in “doing” that I forget to rest.  But to God, rest is very important.  He rested Himself after He created the earth and all that is in it.  He also commanded His people to rest on the 7th day of the week.  If God felt it was important enough to make it a command, don’t you think it should be important to us too?

Now, this time, my weariness most likely has more to do with the time change than with doing too much.  But more often my weariness is a direct result of “doing”.  Yes, God wants us to do work for Him.  Yes, He asks us to serve each other.  But He also wants us to rest, and He doesn’t expect us to do everything ourselves.  In fact, He longs for us to call upon Him – so that He can carry the bulk of the burden.

Will you join me today in finding rest for your soul?  You don’t have to do it all either.  If you are weary and burdened, call on Jesus – in Him, you WILL find rest for your soul.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

