Inspiration (or Lack Thereof)

Posted: March 11, 2011 in Christianity, Miscellaneous, Thoughts

I am seriously lacking in inspiration this morning.  It could be because I have nothing to say (unlikely).  Or it could be because for some reason, even though I got more sleep than ever (I actually got over 8 hours), I am still tired (possibly).  Or it could be that it’s cold this morning which has frozen my brain (again, possible).  Whatever the reason, I am feeling very uninspired today.

So, that got me to thinking – what exactly is inspiration?  So, I went to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, and the very first definition that was listed was:

a: a divine influence or action on a person believed to qualify him or her to receive and communicate sacred revelation

I thought it was pretty interesting that this was the very first listing.  I was almost positive that it would be something else.  Inspiration in the Bible is referring to “God-breathed.”  2 Timothy 3:16-17 says,

All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. (NASB)

I am so thankful that we have the inspired Word of God to turn to.  Life is difficult, and a lot of times it seems like there is nowhere to turn.  But God’s Word has something for every situation.  It holds the answers.  I don’t need to have them all – that’s comforting.

As I said above, I’m seriously lacking in inspiration today, so I am going to stop for today, but I look forward to next time!

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

