Storms

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Christianity, Encouragement, Thoughts

A thunderstorm started this morning, shortly after I woke up.  I was doing my AM workout (o.k., I admit it, my DAILY workout :)), and all of a sudden I heard the sound of hard rain pounding on my windows and the ground outdoors.  I love the sound of rain, it’s refreshing and relaxing.  I also love to be inside listening to the thunder and watching the lightning flash across the sky.  There is something magnificent and beautiful about a thunderstorm.

But storms can be scary, too.  I remember a day, when my oldest was around a year old, that I got caught outside in a thunderstorm.  I was living in Illinois at the time, and I didn’t own a car, so I walked pretty much everywhere I went.  That day I had gone to a local church after work because they were holding a “garage sale”.  When I was leaving to go get my daughter from daycare, I didn’t notice that it was getting ready to storm.  As I was walking, I suddenly heard thunder, and then I saw the flash of lightning.  Suddenly, what was so fun to watch from indoors was scary when I was in it.  It began raining, and I began crying because I was so frightened.  All I could think of was that I was the tallest thing at that point because there weren’t really any trees in the area that I was walking in.  And I had heard that lightening usually struck the tallest thing in its path.  All I wanted to do was get in out of that storm.  Well, as we can see, I didn’t die that day, but I also haven’t gone walking in a thunderstorm since then either. 🙂

The storms of our lives can be much like a thunderstorm.  When you’re on the inside looking out and seeing the storm, it doesn’t seem so scary.  It’s easy to tell someone “God will get you through this” when you aren’t the one who has to go through it.  It’s easy to think the storms can’t or won’t scare you if you ever have to go through them.  It’s easy – until you have to go through them yourself.

When those storms hit, they can work great damage in our lives.  They can devastate and tear down and demolish any semblance of normalcy.  It is in those storms that we seek shelter.  We long for shelter – for protection from the storm.  So, where do we turn when storms come?  What or who can possibly protect us from the devastating effects of the storms in our lives?  Psalm 107:28-30 says,

Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble,
And He brought them out of their distresses.
He caused the storm to be still,
So that the waves of the sea were hushed.
Then they were glad because they were quiet,
So He guided them to their desired haven. (NASB)

God can be our shelter in the storm.  He is our comfort and our hope in times of great storms.  Psalm 46:1-2 says,

God is our refuge and strength,
A very present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change
And though the mountains slip into the heart of the sea; (NASB)

God promises to be there with us when the storms threaten to toss us to and fro.  We do not have to be afraid when we feel like we are being battered and torn apart because God is there to protect and cover and comfort us.  Does that mean that we won’t have hurts along the way or that everything will turn out the way we want?  No.  What it does mean is that if we put our trust in God, He will use our storms for His glory.  Our storms will help us to learn and grow.

While I still don’t like the storms of life to affect me, I am beginning to see their benefits.  I can choose to look on my storms as a blessing or as a curse.  I choose to look on them as a blessing and as a time for growth.  As I go out today into a literal thunderstorm, I look on it as a reminder of how God uses my storms to help me grow.  Isn’t it great how God can use the everyday happenings of life to illustrate His great love for us?

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

