Growth and Change

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Change, Christianity, Encouragement, Growth, Thoughts

It’s interesting to me how God takes a principle that He’s trying to get across to me, and puts it everywhere.  For instance, something that just popped out of my mouth one day had the complete element of truth: Without change there can be no growth.  I highly doubt that I was the first one to come up with that, but I don’t recall ever having heard it before.  (Though that doesn’t necessarily mean anything. :))  If it had ended there, I might have forgotten about it and gone on with my life without considering it any further.

However, over the past few weeks I have said that statement on more than one occasion, and last night, I heard it come out of the mouth of someone else.  I got chills when I heard it because I just knew God was talking to me.  Over the past several weeks, He has given me opportunity after opportunity to reflect on that statement.

Over the past two years a lot of change has happened in my life.  My husband and I separated, I moved across the country, I started attending a new church, I got involved in our Single Parents Ministry, and the list goes on and on.  But the one thing I have noticed that has stayed consistent in the midst of all that change is that I have grown.  I have seen more growth in my spiritual walk in the past two years than I saw in the entire time since I accepted Christ as Savior at 8 years old.

2 Corinthians 5:17 states,

Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. (NASB)

I can now say that I am beginning to understand what Paul was saying when he wrote this verse.  I was made a new creation when I accepted Christ.  At that time, there were surface changes, but no real ownership of this verse.  As I got older and I had more opportunity, I found that living what I believed was a lot harder than talking about it, and I fell away from the Word and from God.  In fact, I remember distinctly running from Him at least once in the course of my adulthood.

But when I made a conscious decision to stick with God no matter what happened, and then I DID it, I found that I did begin to grow.  I started growing in God.  I started being willing to put myself out there.  This is not something I could have done on my own power.  I didn’t think I would be able to last.  But I did the only thing that will really work authentic change – I threw myself on the power of God.  And He grabbed hold and He has not let go of me.

It’s like a child who wants to go into the water, but is scared.  She holds onto her Daddy’s hand as he walks with her into the water.  He stays with her – and at some point, she lets go and starts playing in the water all by herself, but if she starts to flounder, she searches for her Daddy to make sure he’s nearby – and he’s right there ready to lend a helping hand.  God is like that.  He walks with us into the water, and allows us to “play” on our own, but He’s right there, ready to hold our hand if we reach out to Him.  He doesn’t just disappear when things are good, and we can’t stop relying on Him because the moment we feel strongest is really the moment that we are most likely to fall.

I can look back on all of the circumstances I have been through in the past couple of years, and I can finally see the truth of Romans 8:28 where Paul writes,

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

God truly does work all things out for good when we love Him.  It is not always right away, but it does happen.  And at the end of our lives (or even now), we can look back and say, “God is good.”  I am blessed by God every day – and I am so grateful that He chose me, and He has changed and is changing me.  He can do that for you too, if you will let Him.

Until Next Time,

Leave a Reply

