Following God’s Lead

Posted: March 4, 2011 in Christianity, Encouragement, Miscellaneous, Thoughts

I’ve mentioned a few times about how God has blessed me lately and how He has been working in my life.  I feel like in the past 2 months, God has really worked an immense change in me – it’s like a breakthrough happened.  I truly believe that God has had His hand on my life the entire time, but I didn’t know – or maybe it’s that I didn’t want to know.  Maybe I wanted to do my own thing so badly, that I chose not to know that God had His hand on my life.  In fact, now that I have written that, it has the ring of truth.

When I put my own earthly desires over God’s divine plan, not only do I ignore God’s leading, but I do myself a great disservice.  God could force me to do what He wants.  After all, He IS God – which means He can do anything He wants – without my permission.  But God does not want my compulsory obedience.  He wants me to willingly submit to His will.  But He doesn’t want me to do that because it benefits Him – He doesn’t really need my help!  He wants me to submit willingly because He wants great things for me!  He wants to bless me and give me good things.

Jesus says the following in Matthew 7:7-11:

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.  Or what man is there among you who, when his son asks for a loaf, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, he will not give him a snake, will he? “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him! (NASB)

God wants to give me good gifts.  There is nothing wrong with having desires.  And God wants to give us the desires of our hearts.  But if I put those desires above obedience to His commands and over His will for my life, then I lose out on the good gifts He wants to give.  God’s plan is perfect.  My plan is flawed.  It’s only logical to assume that if I choose to go with my flawed plan, I’m going to miss out on blessings from God.

God has made this so clear to me today.  I have a desire in my heart, but that desire was beginning to lead me to consider doing something that was not healthy for myself.  As I pursued my desire, which I did think was correct at the time, I began to notice three things that concerned me.

1) Spiritually, I was under attack.  I was reading God’s Word, and I was talking to Him, but I acted on what I thought His Word was telling me, before really getting good counsel.  There are times when it’s ok to do that because God makes things very clear.  But in this case, I wasn’t really clear on what I needed to do.  In fact, I was not sure what God wanted me to do at all.  Because I thought that He couldn’t possibly disagree with my interpretation, I did not wait for counsel.  I asked for counsel, and I did receive it, but I didn’t wait for it.  Because I did not wait for it, I felt like I was under spiritual attack – pushing me to take more steps that I was uncertain about.

Paul tells us in Ephesians 6:12:

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. (NASB)

Satan was trying to get a foothold in my life, and the feelings from my past (insecurity, ineptness, worthlessness) started cropping up again.  Thankfully, I had not stepped away from God, and I believe that because I stayed in His Word, and I did go and get counsel, that He kept me from falling into sin.  When I started feeling insecure and afraid, I went to God.  I read His Word.  I talked to Him.  And He pulled me out of the mire of feelings that had fallen over me.

2) Physically, I was beginning to get ill.  For a long time I battled physical illness.  There was nothing physically wrong with me, according to the doctors.  But I lived with stomach problems, headaches, insomnia etc.  I just felt sick all the time.  Since I removed myself from the situation I was in at the time, I have seen healing take place in my life.  My stomach issues have virtually disappeared and unless I have had an uncharacteristically difficult day, I don’t suffer from headaches or any of the other physical symptoms I had before.  I truly believe that my physical problems were a result of an enormous amount of stress in my life.  I was under a constant cloud of stress – I felt as if there was no safe place for me.

As I was stepping forward in following what was my desire and what I thought God was telling me to do, those physical symptoms were beginning to return.  I was not sleeping, my stomach was in a constant state of nausea every time I thought about the situation, and my headaches started to return.  I began to see a direct correlation between my situation and my health issues.  Again, God opened my eyes and helped me to see the problem.  But in order for that to happen, I had to be willing to actually see what He was showing me.  Now that I can clearly see the problem, I can work toward a solution and take appropriate steps – with God’s leading.

3) My actions were beginning to change.  Now, I fully believe that it is my responsibility to take action to control my actions.  I do not believe in blaming them on someone else or circumstances.  However, I also believe that there are times and circumstances when I would have a much harder time controlling my actions due to undue stress and strain.  This does not remove my responsibility, and there are going to be times when I have to be in difficult situations.

However, I do not have to purposely set myself up to fail.  If I know that being in a situation is going to cause me to be tempted to do wrong, I need to stay away from that situation.  We are warned to flee from temptation.  I don’t want to fall into the trap of sin, so my duty is to stay away from those traps.

So, as I stated before, God has been working in my life.  I feel His very real leading.  I don’t have to live in fear or despair because He holds me tight in His strong arms.  He gives me good gifts, and leads me to good things.  He has good gifts for you, too.  All you need to do is accept His gift of salvation, and He will freely give it and more.

Until Next Time,

Comments
  1. burntheships says:

    Karen,
    Thanks for your honest post. I love when folks are so honest with their relationship with the Lord God. We are all real people, living in a real world, facing real problems.

    “So Lord, I thank You for my sister in Christ and I thank You for revealing Yourself to her. I ask that You would continue to bring healing to her in every area in which You have created. Bring healing in the body, the soul and the spirit. I thank You for the healing that You have begun in Karen and I ask that You would complete the tremendous work that You have started in her. I ask those things in the name that in high above any other name that was or will every be…Jesus Christ. Amen”

    Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

