Light & Darkness

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Christianity, Thoughts

Good Morning Friends,

It’s interesting to me how, when we stop trying to hold the reins, God works in our lives.  Recently, God has been doing a lot in my life, and He’s been showing me some areas where I needed to work.  These are areas that I thought I had already done the work that needed to be done.  There is one key thing wrong with this last statement – that is, I thought that I had done the work that needed to be done.  If I was doing the work – where was God?  The truth is, if I am trying to the do the work by myself, then that means at some point I pushed God away.

I’ve mentioned in earlier postings that I like to be in control.  I don’t like to have people tell me what to do, and I don’t like to think that there is anything that I cannot do.  However, that need to be in control is the very thing that can keep me from growing because when I am in control, 1) make a mess of things and 2) I don’t see the areas that I need to change.

Matthew 6:22-23 says, “The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light.  But if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light that is in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!”  The problem is, when I am in control, I don’t let God’s light shine into my life.  Those dark corners stay dark.  In fact, if left unchecked by Christ, that darkness grows until it consumes my whole life.

By contrast, when I let God have control, those areas of darkness are lit up, and then I can see where work needs to be done.  I can see where change needs to take place.  John 8:12 says, “Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”” By relinquishing my “right” to change myself, I allow God to work in me.  I allow His light to permeate my life, and I get to have a greater impact for His glory.  This is not something I can do by myself.  Only God can truly change a life.  I can’t force myself to feel differently than I feel.  But God can work on those feelings, and if I let Him, He can change my feelings.  He can fill my heart and my life with change.

So, how do I do that?  How do I let God have control and not yank it back?  It comes down to trust.  Do I trust God enough to say, “You know better than I do what I need.  Give it to me, even if I kick or stomp my feet and throw a tantrum.”  It is realizing that God has my best interests at heart and is infinitely able to do the miraculous in a persons life.  How do I learn to trust God?  I spend time in His Word.  I pray to Him.  I cultivate a relationship with Him.  How do you learn to trust someone if you never spend time getting to know them?  It’s the same with God – you can’t truly trust Him until you know Him.  I can accept His gift of salvation, and never grow.  Or I can accept His gift and get to know Him, and grow more than I ever thought possible.

So, as I stated at the beginning of this entry, God has shown me some areas that need work.  I can choose to grab the reins and try to make those changes by myself.  Or I can do the harder thing and let God have the reins and change my heart.  The question becomes, do I want to live in the light or do I want to live in the darkness?

What about you?  Are you, like me, going through areas of change, realizing that there was more work to be done that perhaps you thought had already been done?  Or perhaps you have never taken the first step of knowing God, which is to recognize that you are a sinner, and accept God’s gift (that’s right – it’s FREE) of salvation.  Are you ready to do that today?

Lord, I pray that you will bless those who read this and use it for your glory.  May we all learn to trust and know you more.

In Jesus’ Name ~ Amen

I hope you have a wonderful Monday.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

