Worry

Posted: February 7, 2011 in Christianity, Thoughts

I often find myself worrying about things. I worry about how I’m going to afford the things we need, about how my kids are going to grow up, about my job, and sometimes about little things that mean nothing in the grand scheme of things.

The thing is, very few if any of the things I mentioned above consist of anything that I can control. I mean, I do work, so I do have the responsibility to budget wisely, so I guess I can have a direct effect on my financial situation, but I can’t control what is going to go wrong at any given moment, such as tires that need replacing. With my kids, I have the responsibility to give my best to them, and to bring them up in the “nurture and admonition of the Lord,” but I can’t control the way they think, the way they feel, or even what they do. When it comes to my job, I can do the best that I can with the work I am given, but I can’t control the actions of others, nor do I get to make final decisions on matters that affect the company as a whole. So again, I can only do so much.

So, why do I worry about these things? What is it that I think I can do by worrying? If I were to be honest with myself, I probably worry because I feel like I have some sort of control over the situation if I worry. It makes me feel like I am doing something by worrying. But really, do I even have a chance at making a difference in a situation by worrying about it?

According to Matthew 6:25-34 says, “25“For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26“Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? 27“And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? 28“And why are you worried about clothing? Observe how the lilies of the field grow; they do not toil nor do they spin, 29yet I say to you that not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these. 30“But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will He not much more clothe you? You of little faith! 31“Do not (J)worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ 32“For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34“So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (NASB)

According to this passage, God has everything under control.  I have no ability to even add one hair to my own head, let alone affect the situations that may come up.  I am make a difference in my life and the lives of others.  I need to take my mind off what I need – according to this passage, God already knows we need food and clothes – and I need to put my mind on God’s kingdom and on His righteousness, and let God take care of the rest.  That doesn’t mean I don’t do my best in all situations, that just means, I do my best, and then I let God have control and work His will.

How comforting to realize that I don’t have to take care of everything.  I just have to do my best and seek God – and He will lead me in His will – even if that means that someday, I lose everything.  God is in control.  I can rest in Him.

Leave a Reply

